The following donors, organizations, and agencies play a crucial role in advancing access to dance education and performance in 2016-17:

Government and Foundations

$100,000 and up
DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities

$20,000 and up
Philip L. Graham Fund
United Way of the National Capital Area
The Share Fund

$10,000 and up
Clark-Winchcole Foundation
Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation
Harman Family Foundation

$5,000 and up
Corina Higginson Trust
Dallas Morse Coors Foundation for the Performing Arts
Eugene M. Lang Foundation

$1,000 and up
Capitol Hill Community Foundation
Combined Federal Campaign
Dimick Foundation
Nora Roberts Foundation
Shrager Family Foundation

Community Partners

Joy of Motion is honored to collaborate with the following organizations and government agencies:

  • Atlas Performing Arts Center
  • DC Public Schools
  • DC Charter Schools
  • DC Youth Rehabilitation Services


  • DC Summer Youth Employment Program
  • Devenio Inc.
  • The Washington Center

Corporations and Businesses

Joy of Motion Dance Festival – 2017 Sponsors and Donors:


Capital Pilates • Jones Maresca & McQuade • Ministry of Supply • Pete’s New Haven Style Apizza

Corporate Donors – 2016-17:

Corporate Matching Gifts – 2016-17:

Individuals and Families

Annual Donors*

Natalie Adler and Chris Walker
Barbara Belzer
Rochelle Bobroff
Evelyn Brandt
Beth Buck
Flachs Family Fund
Robert and Mary Eccles
Katie Cissel Greenway
Christopher Holmes
Stacey Kohl
Laurence and Florence Meyer
Min Mitchell
Elisa Rapaport
Juan Carlos Rincones and Thomas Pheasant
Heidi Thibodeau

Loren Amdursky and Edward Nelson
Michelle Cooper
Elaine Goldman
Catherine Kuchta-Helbling
Jerry Kuo and Jianping Shi
Ivette Rivers Hayes and Michael Hayes
Sharon Parrott and Ari Blumenthal
Steve Pearcy
Attlee G. Shinaberry
Jacqueline Strzemp
Marti and Ken Williams
Jonathan Young and Nellie Wild

Brent Agnew
Janet Butler Berry
William Cain
Samantha and Roger Caruth
Barbara and John Franklin
Alan Helfer
Jennifer Jackson
Judith Lee
Asmahan and Ivan Limansky
Susan Morita and Alan Matsumoto
Susan McCarthy
James Roof
Roberts Shinaberry
Lisa Page
Helen Trilling
Jill Weiler

JoyFest Sponsors*

Natalie Adler and Christopher Walker
Katie Cissel and Bill Greenway
Alisa Klein and Craig Goldblatt
Stephanie Meyer and Eric Dunn
Mumford-Gitchell Family

The Joyful Circle

Steve Barberio
Joe Gitchell and Elizabeth Mumford
Tom and Nancy Gavin
Helen Hayes
Anita LaRue
Jessica Lerner and Daniel Pink
Yao Odamtten
Beth-ann Roth

Erva Cockfield
Jonathan DeVilbiss
Leah Kalinosky
Roslyn and Laurence Korb
Ute Moeller
Margaret Riddle
Karen Zhang

*This list represents donors who contributed more than $250 in Fiscal Year 2016-17 to date (September 1, 2016 to present) or more than $25 on a recurring monthly basis. Despite our best efforts, errors may have occurred in producing this list. If you notice an error, please accept our apologies and let us know right away:
Joy of Motion Dance Center abides by the ethical principles and standards outlined by the Association of Fundraising Professionals. Click here to read your Donor Bill of Rights.

2017-18 Resident Companies

Motion X Dance DC
Artistic Director: Stephanie Dorrycott

UpRooted Dance
Artistic Director: Keira Hart-Mendoza

DC Contemporary Dance Theater/El Teatro de Danza Contemporanea
Artistic Director: Miya Hisaka

* Learn more about the Resident Company program at Joy of Motion

Memberships and Affiliations

Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County:

Atlas Performing Arts Center:
Resident Arts Partner

Capitol Hill Association of Merchants & Professionals:

Catalogue for Philanthropy: Greater Washington
Featured Nonprofit  (2009, 2013 2017)


Cultural Tourism DC:

Dance Metro DC:


DC Arts and Humanities Education Collaborative:

National Dance Education Organization: